Pink umbrellas and pussy hats

Happiness is walking into Bartell’s Drug store (my favorite drug store) in search of 2 pink umbrellas and finding exactly 2 pink umbrellas.  No more no less.  Just the right number I was looking for.  My sister and I are marching in the Seattle Womxn’s March on January 21st and because this is Seattle the chances are very good that it will be raining.  We will be proudly wearing our pink pussy hats and want them to stay dry and perky  lol.

I love the color pink!

img_8932

Our mother and her mother loved pink.  When our mom was in her 80’s she lived at an assisted living facility a few blocks from my house that she dubbed “the institution”.  It is a really nice “institution”.  Anyway I can still picture her waiting out front in her very care worn pink sweatshirt for me to come by and pick her up for an outing.  Usually to Bartell’s.  That was her favorite store too.

june-2008-094

img_8934

So here I sit knitting lots of pink and reflecting on our mom.  Kate and I think she ‘arranged’ for the pink umbrellas to be waiting for me at Bartell’s.

 

1 thought on “Pink umbrellas and pussy hats”

  1. Awww, that picture of mom and Olivia makes me happy/sad! She would be proud of us for standing up against that man. Mom was a strong woman and wouldn’t take any of his crap. Can’t wait to see you tomorrow and get ready for our MARCH! xoxo

    Like

Leave a comment